#FilmQuoteMay

I think May shall be #filmquoteMay. Some of my fave lines from the silver screen condensed to 140 characters. 1 a day for the month of May.

This was the tweet on 30 April that prompted the bestie and I into a month long sharing of movie quotes. It was great fun so I thought I’d collate my picks into a blog post. (With hashtag removed and character & film added for reference.)

 

1 May: Feelin good’s good enough.

Sgt. Elias, Platoon

 

2 May: Flowers are essentially tarts, prostitutes for the bees.

Uncle Monty, Withnail & I

 

3 May: I know now why you cry, but it is something I can never do.

T-800, Terminator 2: Judgement Day

 

4 May: Free that to those that can afford it. Very expensive to those that can’t.

Withnail, Withnail & I

 

5 May: These go to eleven.

Nigel Tufnel, This is Spinal Tap

(And because I had to include at least one clip in this post, please see here. You are welcome.)

 

6 May: I wish I had a million dollars… Hot dog!

George Bailey, It’s a Wonderful Life

 

7 May: Gotta be rich in 1st place to think like that. Everybody know poor always being fucked over by rich. Always have, always will.

King, Platoon

 

8 May: ‘Cause it’s all so fuckin’ hysterical.

Connor Rooney, Road to Perdition

 

9 May: Certainly, in the topsy-turvy world of heavy rock, having a good solid piece of wood in your hands is often useful.

Ian Faith, This is Spinal Tap

 

10 May: As a youth I used to weep in butchers’ shops.

Uncle Monty, Withnail & I

 

11 May: I love this place at night, the stars. There’s no right or wrong in them… they’re just there.

Sgt. Elias, Platoon

 

12 May: ‘Here lies David St. Hubbins… And why not?’

David St. Hubbins, This is Spinal Tap

 

13 May: I guess you guys aren’t ready for that yet. But your kids are gonna love it.

Marty McFly, Back to the Future

 

14 May: We want the finest wines available to humanity! We want them here and we want them now!

Withnail, Withnail & I

 

15 May: To be paid to do what you love… ain’t that the dream?

Maguire, Road to Perdition

 

16 May: We covet what we see every day.

Dr Lecter, Silence of the Lambs

 

17 May: I’d be a full time dreamer.

David St. Hubbins, This is Spinal Tap

 

18 May: Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need roads!

Doc Brown, Back to the Future

 

19 May: We are drifting into the arena of the unwell…

Marwood, Withnail & I

 

20 May: We’re protecting our interests.

Frank Nitti, Road to Perdition

 

21 May: Good night, and good luck.

Edward R. Murrow, Good Night, and Good Luck

 

22 May: Frances. That’s a real grown up name.

Johnny Castle, Dirty Dancing

 

23 May: Put the fucking lotion in the basket!

Jame Gumb, Silence of the Lambs

 

24 May: Just you and me now Sport.

Will Graham, Manhunter

 

25 May: And I come back to you now at the turn of the tide.

Gandalf the White, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

 

26 May: For as long as I can remember I always wanted to be a gangster…

Henry Hill, Goodfellas

 

27 May: Well, I’m sure I’d feel much worse if I weren’t under such heavy sedation.

David St. Hubbins, This is Spinal Tap

 

28 May: Let’s never come here again because it would never be as much fun.

Charlotte, Lost in Translation

 

29 May: In Bay City, if you cross the line your nuts are mine.

David Starsky, Starsky & Hutch

 

30 May: Folks don’t laugh so loud when you’ve got a grand in your back pocket.

Gaz, The Full Monty

 

31 May: Have… a good time… all the time.

Viv Savage, This is Spinal Tap

Leave a comment